Intense Learning – Let’s Ignite it!

In a previous post, I shared research and strategies on how we can Keep Working to Make Schools Less Boring. With us coming to the close of the first school semester and looking to finish the second half strong, I thought I would share some “rules” for learning. Below are fellow educator and ed tech innovator Al Juliani’s 10 Simple Rules for Learning:

  1. Learning starts with attention.
  2. Attention happens for two reasons: Necessity and interest.
  3. Relationships directly impact attention, and therefore, learning.
  4. Learning happens inside our head. Understanding is demonstrated outside our head.
  5. Technology is a byproduct of learning + creativity. Both must be present for technology to exist.
  6. Learning has nothing to do with innovation. But innovation has everything to do with learning.
  7. Intrinsic motivation will always outperform extrinsic motivation when it comes to learning. (check out a previous post about motivation)
  8. Worms are better than strawberries and cream.  Dale Carnegie said, “Personally I am very fond of strawberries and cream, but I have found that for some strange reason, fish prefer worms. So when I went fishing, I didn’t think about what I wanted. I thought about what they wanted. I didn’t bait the hook with strawberries and cream. Rather, I dangled a worm or grasshopper in front of the fish and said: “Wouldn’t you like to have that?” 
  9. Make learning meaningful and relevant, you should go the extra mile every time.
  10. Learning is wild, it’s messy, it’s free. Rules don’t often apply, including these ten.

Finally, as I work to do every week, I have included a little video below.  Ramsey Musallam’s “3 rules to spark learning” are listed and his 6min. 30sec. TedTalk follows.  As a chemistry teacher, it was surviving cancer that helped him invoke these three rules.

  1. Curiosity comes first; it drives questioning
  2. Embrace the inevitable mess of trial and error
  3. Practice intense reflection for design and revision

Check out the video below for inspiration!

Leave a Reply

