“The Power of Introverts” #BCSLearns

In her book, Quiet: The power of introverts in a world that can´t stop talking, Susan Cain, a self-proclaimed introvert, suggests that when it comes to creativity and leadership, we need introverts to do what they do.  To read more about the book, check out Kim Hartman’s book summary.

As I thought more about this notion of introvert, I made a variety of connections to two of my previous posts.  The one on creativity and the one on procrastination.  Do you notice any similarities?  Take a look at the BalancEdTech website for some powerful questions with implications for classrooms and the students we serve.  There are also key points, “notes”, listed from Quiet and links to a host of related topics with which you can connect.

In the 20-minute TED Talk below, Cain shares the key components of an introvert.  It’s not about being shy!  In fact, at her Quiet Revolution website, you can see where you fall on the introvert-extrovert spectrum.  Cain outlines characteristics, research, as well as stereotypes about introverts.  Where do you fall on the spectrum?  What do you believe about introverts and extroverts?  Take the “test” and view the video below!  The bottom line?  INDIVIDUALLY, we have to balance ourselves along this spectrum and, COLLECTIVELY, we must allow people to be who they are!

5 thoughts on ““The Power of Introverts” #BCSLearns

  1. Karen

    The quiz said I was an introvert, not surprising… Interesting to think about it in terms of thoughtful decision-making, not just social preferences.

    Reply
    1. Mandy Pantuso

      According to the quiz, I’m an “ambivert”, which causes me to fall smack in the middle of introvert/extrovert. It was interesting to think about the ways I go about making decisions, because I can see where I could definitely fall on both sides of the spectrum at times.

      Reply
  2. at05bps

    I am not surprised to also be labeled an introvert by the quiz. I found it interesting that the quiz focused on decision making just as much as it did social preferences as well, but I also thought…it seemed nearly 50/50 on the quiz, but surely there has to be more to being an introvert/extrovert than social preferences and decision making, right? I love the illustrations on Susan Cain’s site here: http://www.quietrev.com/6-illustrations-that-show-what-its-like-in-an-introverts-head/

    I think it’s important to understand the different personalities of our students as well, and how their introvert/extrovert status might affect the way they learn best. I feel that we currently are working so hard to cater to the extroverts that we forget about those that still need a quiet, less stimulating environment.

    Reply
  3. Cupcakeasaurus

    I took the quiz too. I guessed the quiz would identify me as an introvert, but I didn’t expect the result to be that far left on the graph. I thought there would be a little more grey area.

    In a general sense, I usually don’t like to reduce human beings to a binary system. We all have so many dimensions that labels like “introvert” and “extrovert” can never tell the whole story. Still, there is value in isolating certain character traits on a quiz like this. I think anyone who takes the quiz on the Quiet Revolution website will understand themselves a little bit better afterwards.

    Reply
  4. Lesie

    I think it is really interesting that so many who have posted here were either identified as introverts by the quiz or felt they were introverts based on the descriptions. I am apparently an Ambivert although I related more the description given for introverts. I guess I find this interesting because as teachers, we need to be energetic, motivating, speak publicly in front of groups (including adults often) – we essentially act out and entertain in some respect everyday we are teaching – which seems extroverted!
    I do feel sympathy quite often for those students who would benefit from a very quiet, serene, calm and peaceful environment. Often, especially in my bigger classes – I feel like it’s the extroverts who drive the atmosphere in my class – and it must have a big impact on students who need the less-stimulating environment.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

