Relentless Gratitude – “Happiness Revealed” #BCSLearns

It is the week of Thanksgiving in America!  A time for us to get some rest from the efforts we’ve put in the last 3 months as educators and reconnect with our families and ourselves individually.  It’s a time of gratitude and thanks!  This week, I share a TEDx video focused on happiness, gratitude and appreciation.

Louie Schwartzberg’s lens allows us to not miss nature’s beauty and show appreciation and gratitude. Check out his stunning time-lapse photography, accompanied by the powerful words from Benedictine monk Brother David Steindl-Rast. Both serve as wonderful reminders to be grateful for every day. With a perfect connection to our Moral Compass, “Positive Attitude” most specifically, I, for one, want to show gratitude every day through my eyes, my mind, and my heart.  Schwartzberg’s TED Talk includes the powerful words of Steindl-Rast who shares that each day is a gift, the only gift that we have right here and now, and the only appropriate response is gratefulness.  Cultivate that gratitude as if each day is the first day of your life or the last day. And, as the child in the video expresses, let’s be sure to explore because exploration leads to more imagination and “beautifuler things”.  Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

happiness

7 thoughts on “Relentless Gratitude – “Happiness Revealed” #BCSLearns

  1. Erica Maliszewski

    I really enjoyed the messages and images in the video. What amazing art and incredible examples of the beauty in our world that constantly surrounds us (if we take the time to notice). The perspective of treating each day as a gift and embracing the beauty in nature resonates with me. I enjoyed the child’s perspective as well on watching TV. Children are often consumed by their devices and other forms of media that are not reality and the child is right, kids should do more exploring.

    Reply
  2. Sra. Toth

    This message about always being grateful and focusing on all of the wonderful things life has to offer rather than focusing on the negative things always grabs my attention. It is something I strive for and believe wholeheartedly, but the details and daily happenings of life get in the way. For me, some things that stood out were how he describe the “OMG” acronym: Oh – caught your attention, makes you present; My – connects to something in your soul; God – personal journey to be inspired and feel like we are connected to the universe (or, in my opinion, to all of the creation that God made). This reminds me of what I read in one of my favorite books, that we need to remember that every person is a “walking miracle”.

    Other parts that stood out to me: “Respond as if it’s your very first day…and your very last day” and “strive to be the person that blesses everyone you meet”. Very high goals to have, and yes daily life and problems DO and WILL get in the way…but as long as we are striving for these, we don’t have to be perfect.

    I also connected with what the older man was saying about this day being a gift and the only appropriate response is gratefulness. And that is so true. We are all so blessed with so much…and if we can focus more on the good and less on the bad, or moreover, focus on what we DO have vs. on what we DON’T have…indeed I do believe we will be happier.

    Reply
  3. Rick Joseph

    “The only appropriate response [for today] is gratefulness…If you learn to respond as if today were the very first day and the very last day then you will have spent this day very well.”

    This idea is my biggest take-away from this video because to me, it encapsulates the meaning of life. Gratitude = happiness. What else could anyone want? As long as I live a life of gratitude in all things and in all ways, I will be happy.

    If I am happy I will be able to spread happiness to all those I meet – my family, friends, colleagues, students and their families. If I can demonstrate an attitude of gratitude in my daily life, I will offer perhaps the best gift I could ever give to others. What more could I ever hope to impart or teach?

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Student Involved Conferences-Leadership & Partnership #BCSLearns | Learn-Lead-Love

  5. Pingback: Positive Attitude-Is it Really that Important? #BCSLearns | Learn-Lead-Love

  6. Pingback: Happiness Matters #BCSLearns | Learn-Lead-Love

Leave a Reply

